God Of Nothing

Life, The Universe, and Everything…

The Past, Present and Future of My Writing

Julianne Snow

I am extremely happy to bring to you a guest post from one of my most favorite authors and good friend, Julianne Snow. I know you will enjoy her writing as much as I do…WS

I wonder what it’s like to be the God of Nothing Now? My good friend Wolf Scott knows all about that and as we talk about life and writing, it’s amazing to see that he in fact is the God of Something New. I am honoured that he has allowed me to borrow his blog for a day to promote my first book, Days with the Undead: Book One and as I think on the three themes he asked me to cover, I cannot help but reflect on -

The Past, Present and Future of My Writing

Wolf has asked me to write on a few specific things when we discussed the possibility of an appearance on his wonderful blog to support my new book Days with the Undead: Book One. At first, I didn’t know how I was going to answer the questions that he asked me because as simple and straightforward as they are, there is so much more to them. I have spent many days with his requests on my mind and now, I finally feel like I’m ready for the world to read my thoughts and my dreams and to get a deeper glimpse into the private oasis my mind is for me.

In the beginning, I wrote because it freed me. It freed my mind from all of the stories that clouded my imagination and made it impossible to concentrate on any other task. I grew up in a happy home but I was never truly content unless I was escaping into another world. I don’t even know why that is to be perfectly honest. I played the part of “happy child” but for the most part I wasn’t. I got teased a lot because my parents couldn’t afford all of the name brand clothes the other kids wore – it was hard but it made me strong. Writing was a release for me – was it all good, of course not. Heck, it could be crap now, but that wouldn’t make much of a difference to me because I write for myself.

Why do I write now? It’s a very good question. One of the reasons that I write is that I can’t imagine myself doing anything else. I’ve been told that’s not an acceptable answer however so I’ll give you a few more. Besides allowing me to cope with other tasks on a day to day basis, writing allows me to use my imagination in ways that I find remarkable – even when the words come out of my own head. Where do the scenes and the phrases come from? Somewhere in my mind sits a diminutive woman who looks a little like me and talks a little like me – her sole purpose is to keep my soul soaring. How does she do this? She pens tales of Zombies, and romance (though not at the same time); tales of horror and of life, and sometimes she even lets a little haiku or two escape. She is mine and I am hers. The relationship is very much co-dependent and for a time I didn’t let her speak, didn’t let her write and I certainly didn’t let her create. It was wrong of me but now that things have changed, we’re much happier together. I couldn’t imagine my life without the joy of literary creation. Plain and simple.

Click Book Cover for Links to buy or Links to Julianne Snow

My first book is firmly entrenched in the Zombie genre. That’s something that is obvious from the title – Days with the Undead: Book One. Why Zombies? Why write about survival? Those are interesting questions and ones that can be understood when you look at my own life. No I haven’t survived a Zombie Apocalypse, in this life or another, but I am a survivor. I have survived a great many things; a life threatening illness, violence, car accidents – I could go one but that might bore you all and the last thing that I want is pity. Empathy, maybe. (Wait, is there such a thing as empathy sales?) The main reason that I write about the Undead is that they scare me. Writing about your own fears can be a cathartic experience. Some might laugh and wonder why I find Zombies scary but the truth of the matter is this – Zombies are the direct juxtaposition of ourselves as a species. They are a reflection of humanity just on the other side of death; not completely dead but there is no saving it. Utterly terrifying when you think about it, right?

Are there other genres that I would like to explore with my writing – absolutely! I love the idea of writing a fully-fledged science fiction novel. Something that would contain all of the science related themes that I find fascinating. The ability to create more fantastical worlds is tempting as well. It’s such a spellbinding thought to me that at some point, I would like to write something that would land more squarely in the genre. To write something that falls within the realm of classic horror – like a psychological thriller – would certainly make my day at some point as well. There are so many stories that I want to write, the sky really is my limit when I consider the ideas that she cleverly tucks away into the subconscious of my mind for the perfect opportunity.

In the end, I’d like to leave a legacy of books behind that are as diverse as I am. I have more places to go with Days with the Undead and my mind swims each and every day with ideas for new stories. Will they all become novels? Perhaps not, but I will write each of the ideas that come to mind – let’s face it, some are better suited for short stories. I enjoy writing, it makes me feel fulfilled. In the end, I hope that people enjoy what I create – isn’t that what all authors strive for?

***

It was watching Romero’s Night of the Living Dead at the tender age of six that solidified Julianne’s respect of the Undead. Since that day, she has been preparing herself for the (inevitable) Zombie Apocalypse. While classically trained in all of the ways to defend herself, she took up writing in order to process the desire she now covets; to bestow a second and final death upon the Undead. As the only girl growing up in a family with four children in the Canadian countryside, Julianne needed some form of escape. Her choice was the imaginations of others which only fostered the vibrancy of her own.

Days with the Undead: Book One is her first full-length book, the basis of which can be found in her popular web serial of the same name. You can find Julianne’s The Living Dead of Penderghast Manor in the anthology Women of the Living Dead and stories in upcoming anthologies called Childhood Nightmares: Under The Bed and Twisted Realities: Of Myth and Monstrosity from Sirens Call Publications.

April 3, 2012 - Posted by | Life, Writing | , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. [...] To read the rest of The Past, Present and Future of My Writing, check it out here. [...]

    Pingback by Days with the Undead Blog Tour: Round Up #4 « The Sirens Song | April 22, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,006 other followers

